GOD> I

If I do good works I will go to heaven.  I DO NOT believe that is true.  Our God wrote in His word that He wants us to believe in Him and we will go to heaven.  Romans 10:9 – Because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.

Be careful of the service you are doing if it is stealing your devotion to Jesus.

We get caught up in doing, INSTEAD of pleasing God by loving Him first.  Hebrews 11:6 (NIV)- “And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.”

We get caught up by doing what we think is His will, instead of letting Him use us for His will.  Philippians 2:13 (NIV)- “for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

We get caught up doing battle for Him, instead of letting Him use us as He sees fit.  Psalm 144:1 (NIV)- “Praise be to the Lord my Rock,who trains my hands for war, my fingers for battle.

He will utilize our gifts to bring His will to completion. Philippians 2:13(NIV)- “for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.”

Are we more committed to “do good works” than we are to God?  Sometimes it is easier to serve than it is to be faithful and love God first.  Keep doing good works, but make sure your motives and your loyalty are of God, not for approval of the flesh.  Loving and pleasing God need to be first.

The battles and good deeds He is going to use us for, will come at the time when He is placed ahead of our desires.  John 3:30 (ESV)- “He must increase, but I must decrease.”

images

16 thoughts on “GOD> I

  1. have you been reading o. Chambers??:) just prayed over this yesterday- service is good and honoring but it can quickly take the place of relationship with God and become what we do for God instead of with Him. Well said friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, you raise the tricky wicket. Sadly, too many Christians hide behind this perspective and use it as an excuse to not help anyone. They are too busy working on their “personal relationship” with Christ. But Richard Rohr gives a lie to this when he tells us that if we think being a Christian is a “personal” relationship then we aren’t reading the Gospels very closely. He uses St. Francis as the example. God calls us to a transpersonal relationship, which involves love and respect for all God’s creation. Only you and God know the truth that is in your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some may do that yes, God knows their heart, absolutly. For many/most, I think its because of their relationship with God that helps them see where they can serve His people. My thoughts were on those who get lost in serving, but need to remember their Father in all places, before and above all else. I know I’ve gotten mixed up and have over commited myself because of that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. If you mean by faith, I hope you realize there is more to mere belief that gets you to Heaven, you must also confess with a contrite heart to being a sinner, repent and ask for forgiveness and trust in getting eternal salvation as a result, not some temporary salvation that depends on your deciding to reject it afterwards or not, as in “I still have free will” as heretics teach and self centered and confused people believe, like how Mormons and Jehovah’s Witnesses, Catholics, Methodists, liberal Christians and Arminians believe.

    Like

    1. I do mean my faith, my proclaiming of Jesus as my Lord is how I will get to heaven. If my heart didnt say that, God would know that it changed. Of course faith is also confessing my sins and all of the other things God wants of us. But to get to heaven, my heart has to confess Jesus as my savior.

      Like

    2.    In Acts 16:30,31, the Philippian jailer asked Paul and Silas: "...Sirs, what must I do to be saved?' And they said, "Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved." More than sixty time in the New Testament God tells us to believe in Him.
      

      I can only say what God tells me in the Bible will save me.

      Like

  4. I know that our works come from God, but in doing them we arent saved. Jesus Christ alone saves us. Our gratitude for this great work he has done in us produces the fruit of the spirit. By faith we are saved in Christ, Jesus. Not by works. It is a gift of God.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right, so we are on the same page. This was about putting God first, even before our good works. My point was, do good works. They dont save you. Do good works, but keep God above those good works was the main point. Blessings. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

