What If?

I heard the words to this song and thought, what if?

What if we put down our signs crossed over the lines and loved like You did?”

-Jesus Friend of Sinners, Casting Crowns.

What if...  loving as He loves us, we’re the answer to ending Satans plan for our world to hate?

Remember Jesus showing love in the form of mercy to those spitting and hitting him?   Jesus said to forgive them.  Hate was missing in his heart and I thank God that it was.  Maybe that’s our answer.

What if we responded like Jesus?

What if.. we did forgive them and see them the way God sees them?  Is it possible to put down our anger, distrust, and desire to be right long enough to let the love and power of Jesus Christ shine through and work light into others?

What if what broke God’s heart really did break ours and we did something about it?

What if we tried?

Hate is repulsive!

Take out the word “hate” and put in the word “satan”.

Satan is repulsive.

What Satan has done is evil and we aren’t blaming it on him.  We are blaming it on each other.  Satan is laughing at what he has stirred up.

What if we stopped Satan’s plan to destroy with the example Jesus gave us?

What if we let God guide our hearts?  Would we stand blaming one another and destroying things?  Or would we see them as God does?  Would we see them as lost souls fooled by satan?  How sad.  How sad to think of someone being the puppet of satan and carrying out his plans to make us hate.  And then make us hate some more.  That is what breaks my heart.  A good hearted person, fooled by satan.

Much more would have to happen to end this cycle of hate, but what if  it started with the love and power of Jesus Christ activated inside of us to tip the scales in our direction?  Could we knock satan right off his high horse? I wonder if enough of us took a stance and cast satan’s hate plan aside, if we just might see God’s light shining in the mirror again?

Wouldn’t we like the person looking back at us a little more if we let go of the strings and instead let God guide our response?  Maybe our conscience would be clear if we knew we were reacting the way God showed us to react.  The hurtful talk in our minds would become silent and be replaced with words of affirmation.  The strongholds keeping us from hearing God would start to fade.  He would have a clear path to our hearts.

SO… WHAT IF YOU,    Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.” -Luke 6:27-28 (NIV)

What if?

c652f088c883fc8e97a50ab4acc33bfb

2 thoughts on “What If?

  1. Thank you for such a beautiful and contemplative post. I am reminded daily by the Holy Spirit that having been saved, there is a regenerative process going on in me leading toward sanctification, in which there is becoming less and less of me and more and more of Jesus. If I am obedient to the gentle guidings of the Holy Spirit, and if I surrender my will to the Lord on a regular basis, the process will occur more quickly. As I love, I am loved. As I serve, I am blessed. As I give, I receive. The secret for me is prayer, study of the Word and fellowship with not only my brothers and sisters in Christ, but with all creation. I am human, I stumble most of the time, but I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave His life for me. I think the ‘what if’s’ can become ‘it is’ with our worship and devotion. It is up to us. In Christ’s love, always.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

