More than a Miracle

Until that divine day when I see Jesus face to face, I will never know why He chose to let me see a miracle.  I have been forever changed and I often feel unworthy to have been a witness.   I did see it, and I do need to share what God did.  So with His spirit guiding me, I will share about who God is and what He can do.

I won’t go into huge detail of my moms sickness, but what I can tell you, is that she  had leg ulcers from a medication side effect that became infected.  Her legs were raw and she had a team come to her home daily to scrub her legs and change her bandages.  Her pain was excruciating.

Two weeks before she died, I had a pull to go home and be with her.  I loved taking care of her and loving her.  Since I was staying with her, I did see the wound care team come in and I saw the terror and fear in her eyes when she knew what was about to happen.  One of the hardest things I have ever seen or helped someone through.  We prayed and prayed some more and cried while she was being taken care of.

Fast forward a few days…  She was admitted to ICU, her heart was failing, but there was still hope, so they continued with the wound care. The first time they came in, it was the same routine.  We would pray, I would be nose to nose with her and we would talk and pray and pray and pray.  I tried to help get her mind to a different place.

That night we talked.  She couldn’t bare one more cleaning.  She was to the point where she could not take it anymore.  God was giving her more than she could handle.  She was to the breaking point, if that is humanly possible.

We had a heart to heart with God.  She let God know, she was willing to be out of pain, any way that He chose.  We both understood that she was willing to go to heaven for healing.  She could not do this anymore and she asked our heavenly Father for help.  For years, I believe my mom was afraid to die, but things changed this day.

I have never seen or felt faith, like I did with my mom in these last moments of her life.  We confessed any doubts we had in God.  We proclaimed our love and dependence on Him.  I think I talked to God all night that night.  I came to terms and accepted His ways and not my ways to help her.  I knew what I was saying and I knew that mom was willing to go to Heaven for this relief.  It was hard to even think.

The morning came for her wound treatment.  Five nurses came in to assist.  Mom and I looked at each other and we KNEW without a doubt that God would intervene.  We were trusting and accepting anything God wanted to do, even death.  We said our prayers and the cleaning began.  Our same routine, I was nose to nose with her and we had escaped to the beach and started talking about her grandkids.

Some time later, the same nurse who was with mom throughout the 6 months of wound care, tapped me on the shoulder.  I broke my nose to nose moment and looked up.

The nurse pointed to my moms legs.  This was two hours later and they were applying the medicine and wrapping her legs. The debridement was over.  She didn’t feel one ounce of pain.  The air in the room felt different and one of the nurses raised her hands to God while the others had tears in their eyes.   They had been with her since January, going through the scraping and cleanings.  They knew how painful it was.  I believe God let us see His glorious power that day.  We did see a miracle.

My mom suffered a torture kind of pain for months.  God’s people have suffered for many many years.  I have often heard the question, “If God is so good, why would He let someone suffer like that?”  The answer to this question is now clear to me.  Her suffering showed others who God really was.

We felt a powerful God that day.  His love carries peace like no other.  Why does God let bad things happen to good people?   I watched my mom suffer and it was horrifying.  Had I not stepped onto this path with her, my faith would have holes in it.  I would still not trust God completely with my life.  I wouldn’t have experienced what it felt like to not have even the smallest of doubts. I can be bold about who God is, because I have no doubt about who God is.

God used my mom’s last few days on this earth to show Himself.  He didn’t just save my mom.  He saved me that day.  My mom gave me the gift of how to fully and completely trust God.  Her life and last days opened my heart and strengthened my soul.  God poured in me a new life and He can do that for you too.

About a week after this, I looked into my moms eyes as she looked to heaven.  He used her death to awaken others as to who He is and to how big He is.  My mom’s life and death, to her very last breath, had purpose for His glory.

No matter how small or how big your situation is, God will transform it.  God can change your trial into something good and pure.  Seems impossible, but NOTHING is impossible with God!

“God did unusual and extraordinary miracles by the hands of Paul.” Acts 19: 11

God has been revealing Himself to you.   Please share that with the people in your life.  God chose you to witness His divine interventions for a reason.  If you don’t tell about it, you might miss the very person it was meant for. “Then Jesus said to him, Unless you see signs and miracles happen, you [people] never will believe (trust, have faith) at all.” John 4: 48

God gave us more than a miracle on that hot muggy day in July.

mir·a·cle

  1. a surprising and welcome event that is not explicable by natural or scientific laws and is therefore considered to be the work of a divine agency.

6 thoughts on “More than a Miracle

  1. Thanks for subscribing to my blog! I had tears in my eyes as I read the above words. My mom is 99 and we haven’t had to deal with all you have….your story shows His Grace is sufficient, even in the hardest times. My mom gets tears in her eyes when we talk about Jesus…she just wants to go see her Savior so bad and can’t understand why she is still here. I told her Monday night that it was so she could still pray for us….God (and my wife) knows I still need it : >)

    Like

  2. Awesome testimony. I’m sorry for your loss but what a blessing you could spend that precious time with her. God knows how to heal those who are left behind. 🙂 Blessings.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Mel. I didnt realize how much God could use something so painful to reach me so powerfully. I am only now realizing that God uses the hardest times in our lives to teach us some of the greatest lessons. Its interesting to look back at the trials in our lives and see how they made us who we are today. Seems obvious, and I’ve heard that before, but I feel new at understanding how meaningful our trials really are. They are wrell planned and strategic in shaping who we are meant to be.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for stopping by my blog. I’m glad you liked it. You have a wonderful testimony here. Thank you for sharing! I’m sorry for your loss, but I see how good God is in the midst of it. Yes, you experienced a miracle. He does that, doesn’t he? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

