The Simple Life – Am I Content?

Have you ever heard the saying, “Someone else is happy with less that what you have?”  When I heard these words, I realized, I was in the process of learning this lesson.

I printed this message and hung it on my fridge two years ago.  We don’t have a lot of extra money, nor have we ever, and so during that summer, I was going to help my kids appreciate our hand me downs and inexpensive dinners.  To my pleasant surprise, they were easy to teach.  They understood these words more than I ever did.  They got it so well, that they started teaching me.

My prideful self didn’t realize that I was the one that needed this lesson.  I read that sign every day, and I would point it out to the kids and talk about it, as if I were teaching them something.  The more I talked about it, the more I started to believe it and my heart started to change.  I started to long for “simple”.  I stopped wanting something that was out of our budget.  I stopped wanting things that were planned for other people’s lives.  I started living the life that was planned for me and not someone else.  I started imagining my dream home, and to my surprise it was a smaller, simpler home than what I had dreamt of before.  I still love big and beautiful homes, but I think God has a different path for my family, and I’m ok with that.  Not wrong, but different. Was I becoming content?  I told myself and others that I was before, since we didn’t live extravagantly or have the fanciest things.  But was I truly content?  Nope, I was holding on to some pretty jealous ways of thinking without even realizing it.

Hebrews 13:5(NIV) -Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said,
“Never will I leave you;
    never will I forsake you.”[a]

3 thoughts on “The Simple Life – Am I Content?

  1. Is there anything more freeing than the sometime painful awareness when God reveals a hardness of our own heart that He’s seen all along and then graciously and patiently guides us in surrendering that to him willingly. Great transparency and I find myself equally challenged in this area. Thank you for your post and the “Like” on mine. They were similar I’d say. May God bless your ministry and journey. George

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was very challenged by this post because I continuously struggle with contentment…specifically with where God has me in life. I love the fact that while you were teaching your kids this concept, you were teaching yourself. I am sure that will be true in my life with my daughter too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Its a hard lesson to learn and I still struggle with being content today. Im more aware and I have been able to redirect my thoughts to the things of God, but its tricky somedays! Thanks for relating and sharing with me. It’s nice to know im not alone in this struggle.

      Like

Leave a Reply

