The Smile Experiment

A joyful heart makes a cheerful face, But when the heart is sad, the spirit is broken.
Proverbs 15:13

We could let many things change our smiles, and sometimes life situations will do just that.When I was younger, I specifically remember forcing myself to stop smiling when I went to certain places.  I thought I was putting on some tough, protecting, exterior (walls).  Don’t worry, I would smile again, I would  hide it at times for protection.  With that being said, the Holy Spirit is within us, and He wasn’t going to allow me to keep that part hidden.

It was interesting to see how people were reacting to me.  I was doing my own little study without realizing.  When I forced myself to stop smiling, people stayed away.  How brilliant was I?  I would like to add, that this is and was not a happy place to be.  In my mind I was protected.  Win for me!  When I wanted to be left alone, I sure was left alone.  Very alone.

When I forced myself to smile again, I was surrounded by laughter and people.  I learned how to control how my day went with my smile.

Unfortunately, I let the “world” change my smile.  Lies entered my life and the “s” word (satan), was sneaky enough to make sense.  I was born with a smile in my heart, but somewhere along the way, I forced a shield on the outside and I used the unsmile to do that.

Have you ever done something similar?  Maybe that’s part of how we build our stone walls?  I knew God at that time, but didn’t talk to God and I didn’t know any of His advice or promises for life and I didn’t read His Word.  Even though, I didn’t know about finding peace and help from Him, He was actually handling things for me and turning lies into His truths.  He was in my heart.  I didn’t use God’s shield in the right way.  My young faith didn’t know about it.

I was given that memory and experience again, to introduce me to his protection.  I was protecting, but in an unhealthy way.  The shield I thought I had, was really a wall.  Happy to say, that is transforming today.  The cheerful heart is out and I can talk about God’s truths, as I learn them.

Today, I wear the belt of truthfulness across my mouth.  I talk and smile and use His protection everyday.

I go to battle daily with the armor of God, to go against a spiritual evil.  Speaking God’s name and His truths, protects you and me.  In the name of God we can smile and speak truth and show love without putting on an “unsmile” or “wall” to block people out.  “s” would like nothing more than to squash our hopes and trick us into wrong thinking, actions, and words.  Always be aware!  Pay attention to that person or situation that leaves you with a bad taste in your mouth, but don’t let them change your smile.

Open your smiling heart and walk towards others, instead of putting up a wall and walking away.

Don’t let sorrow camp out in your smiling heart.  Let your face be cheerful to show God’s truth.  Stop listening to the evil one, who wants to separate you from others.

For more about spiritual armor, see – Ephesians 6:7-17

Mother Theresa once said…

“Let no one ever come to you without leaving better and happier.

Be the living expression of God’s kindness.

Kindness in you face,

Kindness in your eyes,

Kindness in your smile.

 

Let your smile change a life!

9 thoughts on “The Smile Experiment

Leave a Reply

