“L-E-T-G-O-D”

When have you genuinely LET GO?

When did you give all of the hurt and pain to God without keeping a little piece of the story locked away inside of you?
“There is a story of a young man who struggled to make ends meet. One day, he got six pieces of white cardboard paper and wrote down these six letters: “L-E-T G-O-D.” This was to remind him to stop worrying and striving to provide for himself and his family, and to let God take over. He placed the cards upright on his dressing table so that he would be reminded each day to let God provide for him.  Well, days passed and nothing changed. He was still in lack and became even more worried, anxious and frustrated. One day, out of desperation, he prayed, “God, please, I really want to know how to ‘let You.’ I want You to take over and supply all my needs, but I don’t know how to! God, please answer me.” The window in his room was open. A wind blew in—whoosh!—and one of the cards fell off the table. It was the last card with the letter “D.” The man looked up and saw the remaining cards spell the words, “LET GO.”

My friend, the way you LET GOD provide for you is to LET GO! Let go and stop worrying about the problem. Cast it into the hands of Almighty God who cares for you and leave it there, and you will begin to see His grace and provision flow freely in your life!

Personally, I find it hard let God and LET GO!  Lately, I’ve prayed and told God and other people in my life, how hard it is for me to completely let go.

God was listening, He allowed many trials into my life.  Not just one, more like a dozen!  These “moments” brought me to my face planted on the floor in prayer. I’m talking face flat on the floor, couldn’t get any lower, kind of prayer.  There was no where else to turn and He was faithful in picking me back up.

I’ll never forget that moment of understanding what it felt like to LET GO.  What it felt like to really know that I CANNOT fix this.  What it also felt like to, NOT KNOW “the plan”. Did everyone else know this secret?  Why was this incredibly hard for me to do?

I remember, years ago at my church, we had to write our sin on a piece of paper. Then we had to lay it at the cross in the front of the church.  After I placed my sin at the cross, I expected to feel differently.  I went through the motion and thought I would see fireworks or something.  I was trying to feel different, but I didn’t.  I thought I trusted my Lord, but I kept doubt in my heart.

If and when that happens to you, when you are hurt to the core of your being, you’ll see God show up.  He promises.  He will pick you up and do a wonderful healing.  At that time, picture Jesus laying on the floor next to you, staring at you, calling out to our Father for you.   Say His name over and over or just cry.  You don’t have to do anything at all, some things cannot be expressed in words.

And the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. For example, we don’t know what God wants us to pray for. But the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words. And the Father who knows all hearts knows what the Spirit is saying, for the Spirit pleads for us believers in harmony with God’s own will. Romans 8:26-27(NLT)

What do you think? Easier said than done?  Let God and Let go, let the spirit plead for you.

When have you genuinely LET GO?

Heavenly Father,  I want to ‘let You’ and ask you to take over and supply all my needs today.  I will trust you to this and hope in your glorious promises.  Your word says, “The Lord gives his people strength.  The Lord blesses them with peace.” Please give me strength and peace so that I may trust and give all of my worries to you.  I love you God, Amen.
7 thoughts on ““L-E-T-G-O-D”

  1. Great post. It is hard to let God, because we want to control our own lives. If we let go, it’s kind of a freedom in a way. Letting go allows God to do the work for us.

    Like

  2. Your point is well put. The modern evangelical call to “Let go and let God” in all things is not really biblical. As you note when the situation is such that we have done all we can then we truly must let go and let God. The tendency today is to forget that faith without works is dead. We must work out our salvation. God did not call us to be lumps of coal but people of action.

    Like

  3. Cyndi, I stumbled across your blog and I have to say that this post was exactly what I needed to hear today. It has given me so much encouragement in letting go and allow God to work in and through me. Thank you so much!!

    Like

  4. Excellent reminder and vulnerable telling of your own obstacles in releasing all into His hands. Reminds me of story regarding a young man who got too close to the precipice and fell. Plummeting to the ground he somehow grabbed a strong, thick bush jutting out. Looking up he prayed, “Dear God please save me.” Within seconds a reply came, “Let go!” The young man thought about the answer and then said, “Is there anyone else up there!?” I am that young man sometimes.
    Thanks for sharing with us.

    David

    Like

Leave a Reply

