Balanced Hope

“Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act.” Psalm 37:5
 
I will tell you this, in “hopes”, I can enlighten you on the emotion of hope!

Hope is a powerful human emotion.  My close friends know that I am a person that goes to extremes.  I love really big, I hurt for others really big, I help more than I should, I worry really big, I say more than I should.  I’m not good at doing things on an average level. 

When I hope, I also hope BIG!  Seems having a giant dose of hope would be healthy, and it is, if it’s balanced with faith and dependence on God.  An imbalance here could lead to despair, which is typically what will follow when we choose to have unbalanced hope.  

I had to learn the hard way, but if I can help you learn what I didn’t understand, then it was worth it.  Recently, I hoped big and was let down even bigger.  Then I hoped again, this time even bigger, and was let down all the harder.  God had some explaining to do when I went to Him in despair of my lost hope.

“Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act.” Psalm 37:5

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me.” John 14:1

This is the hope I needed.  I needed to trust and have faith in His plans.  Not have hope in mine.  Trust and faith in God’s plans, will give you reasonable hope.  

The Bible talks about hope many times, and while it’s good to have a lot of hope, I’ve learned there needs to be a balance between, spiritual hope, joyful faith, and trust in God.  

I filled my mind and heart with many scriptures about hope and it did give me peace and joy.  I neglected to balance my hope with trust that God knows all.  I also neglected to understand, what seems to be a dead end will actually be a path that was paved by God, specifically for me.  I wasn’t depending on the plans that God made, and I didn’t have faith that His way was better than what I was telling him.

 

When we hope, we are desiring and expecting positive outcomes, RIGHT NOW!  Being God’s child, I know this isn’t always the case.  Hence his answered prayers go something like this…. “No!”, “Yes!”, or “I have something better!”  

Perhaps God is saying this to you today… “I have paved the way, and you will be blown away when you see what I did at the end of this road.  I love you child, I did this for YOU.”

Hope is powerful, and I highly recommend reading all God has to say about having hope in Him.  

Much of life is about finding balance.  Hope, balanced with faith and trust in God, will carry us a long way while traveling the unknown. 

Heavenly Father, I praise your almighty name and ask that you give me strength to move forward, While the road may be difficult, please give me strength to persevere and fulfill your will for my days.  Help me to walk in your light and live my life in faith and glory.  In Jesus name, Amen. 

Join the discussion on Facebook

 

Sparkle Devotion Contributors:

Carla Autry, Our Thread of Grace

Cyndi Moon, Day By Day Faith

Susie Stewart, President & Co-Founder of True Impact Ministries

18 thoughts on “Balanced Hope

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog Cyndi. Reading your words here – based on God’s truth and promises – encourages me a lot! I go from the extreme of not hoping (ie., trying to rest contentedly in my current situation) to hoping BIG (but not being sure whether it’s God or how to start on doing my part).

    Psalm 37 is brimming with godly goodness – one of my key verses is ‘Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart’.

    Like

  2. Hope is what we hang onto even when the world seems dark and our only hope comes from knowing Jesus. I loved reading this today. Thanks, Cyndi, for stopping by my blog and liking one of my posts. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have found your blog here. 🙂 God bless!

    Like

  3. Very well written, and accurate. God has promised me things, so my hope is founded on His words to me. No matter how many bumps, or twists and turns there are on the road, He always keeps His promises. God bless.

    Like

  4. So true, I also find myself not balancing my hope with trust. Great reminder in keeping our perspective when life’s road is not only full of pot holes but craters.

    Like

  5. The amazing thing is when all hope is gone, he is still there and he always wants what’s best for us because he knows the end as well as the beginning. The love that we have for ourselves can never match the love that God has for us.

    Like

  6. I love the passage of scripture in your “tagline!” And I love the Psalms and quote them often in my posts!

    It’s a pleasure to “meet” you here and I hope to continue to share comments with you. Sadly, I don’t have Facebook, nor Twitter. But perhaps we’ll see each other around here.

    Steve Pejay

    Like

  7. Cyndi, What a beautiful post 😉 The “right now” part of hope is so true. We desire God’s blessing, direction and will to be unveiled now…it’s so hard to wait. This is a lesson I’ve learned recently, as you know and I am just rejoicing at all God did in the waiting. I had some things to learn too. God is so gentle and good and knows best. I have this Emily Dickinson quote on my wall that says, “hope is the thing with feathers that perches on the soul”. Perching is waiting, soaring is God’s outcome. Thank you Cyndi!

    Like

  8. Excellent post! I really like the point of while you hope also need to trust God with the answer He gives. Although it is sometimes difficult to accept His answer I also know is always the best answer for me. Thanks for sharing this.

    Like

  9. Cindy, thank for stopping by my blog today! I enjoyed reading your article too. You hit the nail on the head! Balance is needed by all of ones like us, who tend to be a bit extreme in our expectation. I need that balance too–especially now, as I’m facing some health issues that haven’t been fully diagnosed yet. The uncertainty, without hope that God knows all would drive me crazy! I liked what you said here: “Hope, balanced with faith and trust in God, will carry us a long way while traveling the unknown.” Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

